This philosophy site's mutated vitamin C gene

Use this forum to discuss the philosophy of science. Philosophy of science deals with the assumptions, foundations, and implications of science.
Steve3007

This philosophy site's mutated vitamin C gene

Post by Steve3007 »

As some people probably noticed, this website recently went offline for a few days because (according to the error reports) it was using a modifier in a PHP command that had become obsolete and was no longer supported. As a software engineer myself I know from experience that this kind of thing (constant updates to various pieces of technology on which your software/site depends) means that you often have to do a fair bit of work just to stand still; just to keep the software/site functioning as it did before. If you do no work on your software/website then it will eventually "break" of its own accord. If the software/site is not used then there will be no "selective pressure" to fix it. Use it or lose it.

Humans and many other primates are not capable of manufacturing vitamin C in our bodies. Many other mammals are. We all have the gene which "codes for" the manufacture of vitamin C, but ours is broken. So we need vitamin C in our diets. The evolutionary reason why that gene is broken is because we do have vitamin C in our diets. There is no selective pressure to keep it functioning, so it eventually an "update" in the environment breaks it. Use it or lose.

Are these two situations analogous?
Steve3007

Re: This philosophy site's mutated vitamin C gene

Post by Steve3007 »

There was a slight grammatical error in this sentence:

"There is no selective pressure to keep it functioning, so it eventually an "update" in the environment breaks it."

It should have said something like this:

"There is no selective pressure to keep it functioning, so eventually an "update" in the environment breaks it."
LuckyR

Post by LuckyR »